Seedance 2.5 vs 2.0: What Changed
Updated 2026-10-13
On this page
Seedance 2.5 makes longer clips than Seedance 2.0 and accepts more reference files. ByteDance lists 30 seconds in one generation for 2.5 against 15 seconds for 2.0. TechNode reports up to 30 images, 10 videos and 10 audio clips as references against 9, 3 and 3. Resolution, price and independent quality tests are not confirmed.
This page lists only differences that we could trace to a named source. Where a claim comes from ByteDance, we say so. Where we could not confirm a claim, we write "not confirmed".
Key facts
- Seedance 2.0 was announced on February 12, 2026. It makes up to 15 seconds of multi-shot video with two-channel stereo audio.
- Seedance 2.5 was reported as released on July 31, 2026. It makes up to 30 seconds in one generation and can extend a clip twice.
- Reference files: 2.0 takes up to 9 images, 3 video clips and 3 audio clips. 2.5 takes up to 30 images, 10 video clips and 10 audio clips.
- New in 2.5, per ByteDance: smoother motion, more precise use of reference videos, more reliable editing, white-model control, green-screen editing, camera movement and performance blocking.
- Not confirmed: the official resolution of 2.5, its price, and any independent quality test.
- Last checked: October 13, 2026.
Seedance 2.5 vs 2.0 at a glance
| Item | Seedance 2.0 | Seedance 2.5 | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Release | Announced February 12, 2026 | Reported July 31, 2026 | [1] [3] |
| Clip length in one generation | Up to 15 seconds | Up to 30 seconds | [1] [2] |
| Extension | Video extension is a listed feature | Option to extend twice | [1] [2] |
| Reference images | Up to 9 | Up to 30 | [1] [3] |
| Reference video clips | Up to 3 | Up to 10 | [1] [3] |
| Reference audio clips | Up to 3 | Up to 10 | [1] [3] |
| Audio | Two-channel stereo, separate tracks for music, ambient sound and voices | Described as an audio-video joint generation model; audio details not listed on the page | [1] [2] |
| Multi-shot | Yes, inside the 15 seconds | Not listed on the official 2.5 page | [1] [2] |
| Resolution | Not stated on ByteDance's pages | Not stated on ByteDance's page | [1] [2] |
| Price | Set by each platform | Set by each platform | [5] [6] |
How long is a clip: 15 seconds or 30?
This is the clearest change. ByteDance's launch post for Seedance 2.0 describes "15-second high-quality multi-shot audio-video output" [1]. The Seedance 2.5 page says you can "create videos up to 30 seconds in a single generation" and extend twice for longer stories [2].
On one API platform the length setting matches these numbers. The 2.0 request takes 4 to 15 seconds. The 2.5 request takes 4 to 30 seconds [5] [6].
For a short social video, 15 seconds is often enough. A longer clip helps when you want one scene to run without a cut, or when you want several beats in one take.
How many reference files can you use?
Seedance 2.0 accepts up to 9 images, 3 video clips and 3 audio clips, plus a text instruction [1]. TechNode reports that Seedance 2.5 accepts up to 30 images, 10 videos and 10 audio clips in one input [3].
The API platform we checked lists the same counts for its 2.5 request. It also raises the reference video limits compared with its 2.0 request:
| Reference video limit on one API platform | 2.0 request | 2.5 request |
|---|---|---|
| Number of clips | Up to 3 | Up to 10 |
| Length of one clip | 2 to 15 seconds | 2 to 30 seconds |
| Total length | Up to 15 seconds | Up to 30 seconds |
| File size of one clip | Up to 50 MB | Up to 200 MB |
Both requests keep one rule. A first-frame image and a set of reference files are separate modes. You cannot mix them in one request [5] [6].
What did ByteDance say is better in 2.5?
The Seedance 2.5 page makes these claims. They are ByteDance's own statements. We have not tested them [2].
- Motion: "Motion is smoother and more consistent." The visuals are "more realistic."
- Reference videos: The model "understands reference videos more precisely". ByteDance says it captures "intention, framing, and cinematic language" and goes beyond copying motion.
- Editing: "Editing becomes more reliable" and "responds to a wider range of audio and visual editing requests."
- Production tools: "White-model control and green-screen editing", combined with "professional camera movement and performance blocking".
The page does not compare 2.5 with 2.0 in numbers. It shows no benchmark table that we could read as text.
What stayed the same?
Both versions are audio-video models. ByteDance's Seedance 2.0 page says it uses a "unified multimodal audio-video joint generation architecture" with text, image, audio and video inputs [4]. The Seedance 2.5 page calls the new model a "next-generation audio-video joint generation model" [2].
Both versions start a video from an image. On the API platform, the first-frame mode works the same way in both requests [5] [6].
ByteDance also listed weak spots for 2.0: detail stability, text on screen, consistency across several subjects, occasional audio distortion and complex edits [1]. The 2.5 page does not say that these are fixed. Treat them as open until you test your own use case.
What is not confirmed?
- Resolution. ByteDance's pages for both versions give no resolution. The API platform lists up to 4K for its 2.0 request and up to 1080p for its 2.5 request [5] [6]. Some outlets say 2.5 has native 4K. Others say the 4K upgrade belongs to the 2.0 line. We could not settle this from a ByteDance page, so we do not claim a resolution for either model.
- Price. No official price for 2.5 on a ByteDance page. Platforms set their own prices.
- Independent tests. We found no independent benchmark for 2.5. ByteDance's own charts for 2.0 are internal tests.
- Preview date. One outlet says 2.5 was shown at a Volcano Engine event on June 23, 2026, before the July 31 release. We found this in one secondary source only [7].
- Dance quality. We have no test that shows 2.5 makes better dance videos from one photo than 2.0.
Where can you use Seedance 2.5?
TechNode reports that ByteDance rolls Seedance 2.5 out to the Jimeng AI app and the Pro version of Doubao. It says an API is expected on Volcano Engine's Ark platform, with no date [3]. Third-party platforms also list both versions [5] [6]. Rules, prices and regions differ by platform.
Which version should you pick?
Pick by the job, not by the version number.
- You need clips longer than 15 seconds, or you want to feed many reference files: 2.5 is built for this.
- You make short clips from one photo: a 15-second limit is enough. A short clip does not use the extra length of 2.5.
- You want a result without writing prompts: use a template. You do not choose a version in a template.
Effect Farm sells templates, not model access. The templates on effectfarm.com run on Seedance. We do not name the version. See the AI models page. You can try one on Make Picture Dance, Genjutsu AI or Jawn Dance AI. One video costs 30 credits ($4.99 in the smallest pack). See pricing.
If you want the basics first, read What is Seedance. If you want to write prompts, read the Seedance prompt guide. To compare Seedance with other video models, read Seedance vs Kling vs Veo.
FAQ
What is the main difference between Seedance 2.5 and Seedance 2.0?
Clip length and reference limits are the main differences. ByteDance lists 30 seconds in one generation for 2.5 and 15 seconds for 2.0. Reference limits grow from 9 images, 3 videos and 3 audio clips to 30 images, 10 videos and 10 audio clips.
When was Seedance 2.5 released?
July 31, 2026, according to a report by TechNode. Seedance 2.0 was announced on February 12, 2026, according to ByteDance Seed.
Is Seedance 2.5 better than Seedance 2.0?
Not confirmed by independent benchmarks. Seedance 2.5 is newer and has higher limits. ByteDance says motion is smoother and editing is more reliable. We found no independent test, so we cannot say it is better for every job.
Does Seedance 2.5 make 4K video?
Not confirmed. ByteDance's 2.5 page does not state a resolution. Reports differ, and one API platform lists up to 1080p for its 2.5 request.
Can Seedance 2.5 make longer videos than 2.0?
Yes. ByteDance lists up to 30 seconds in one generation for 2.5, and an option to extend twice. Seedance 2.0 makes up to 15 seconds per clip.
Do I need Seedance 2.5 to make a dance video from one photo?
No. A short dance video fits inside 15 seconds. Pick a template, upload one photo and the template does the rest.
Which version does Effect Farm use?
Seedance, with no specific version named on our pages. Our templates run on Seedance. The AI models page lists the models behind each video.
Where do I try Seedance 2.5?
The Jimeng AI app and the Pro version of Doubao, as reported by TechNode. Third-party platforms also offer it. For a one-photo dance video, open a template page.
Make a video with one photo
You do not need to choose a model version to get a result. Upload one photo, pick a template and get a video in 3–6 minutes. Start with Make Picture Dance or Toc Toc AI Dance, or see the pricing page.
Sources
[1] ByteDance Seed, official launch of Seedance 2.0 (February 12, 2026): https://seed.bytedance.com/en/blog/official-launch-of-seedance-2-0 [2] ByteDance Seed, Seedance 2.5: https://seed.bytedance.com/en/seedance2_5 [3] TechNode, ByteDance launches Seedance 2.5 (July 31, 2026): https://technode.com/2026/07/31/bytedance-launches-seedance-2-5-video-generation-model/ [4] ByteDance Seed, Seedance 2.0 overview: https://seed.bytedance.com/en/seedance2_0 [5] API documentation for Seedance 2.0 (third-party platform): https://docs.kie.ai/market/bytedance/seedance-2.md [6] API documentation for Seedance 2.5 (third-party platform): https://docs.kie.ai/market/bytedance/seedance-2-5.md [7] Miracamp, Seedance 2.5 explained: https://www.miracamp.com/learn/content-creation/seedance-2-5-bytedance